Tuesday, September 6, 2016

The Vrai Domicile by Courtney Ruggles WITH Reviews

vrai banner


The Sixth Domicile (The Domicile Series Book 1) 
by Courtney Ruggles 
 Published on January 20th, 2016 
 Published by Elephantine 
Publishing Genre: New Adult Dystopian 


sixthIn a future ravaged by greed and war, The Domicile has emerged. A new civilization governed by clandestine Elders where citizens are united by white masks and uniform identities. To remove one’s mask, to go outside the Domicile, to show defiance, means being sent to the Meurtre, a horrifying death sentence. Q437B doesn’t follow the rules. She craves sunlight, dares to love her childhood friend B116A, and–the most forbidden of all–has seen the true face of her beloved beneath his mask. But when Q becomes an Adulte, The Domicile threatens to take away everything that makes her happy. She is forced to marry an abusive soldier who demands she conform. Whispers spread about the unconventional lessons she teaches her new students. And when Q openly disobeys the Elders, the people become restless, questioning the truth of the world in the wake of such defiance. Rumblings of discontent stir as others begin to follow the path toward their freedom. The Revolution has begun, and Q is the spark that ignited the flames. 
The Sixth Domicile is book 1 in the Domicile Series, A New Adult dystopian. 
Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Ally Condie’s Matched series will love The Sixth Domicile.



Review:
5 Stars
I was asked for an honest review free of persuasion from the author or anyone else affiliated with this book.

Courtney Ruggles is a new author to me. This is the first in a series that promises to be riveting. The way this author describes the dystopian future and the dictatorial ways of life makes me value even the smallest gifts of today's world. We do not live in a utopian America, however I believe dystopia is all around. This dystopia could happen if given the proper uprising as described in the book. Be careful what you wish for...you might just get it.

The Domicile Series by Courtney Ruggles is based on what has happened after a government was overthrown by a group of people who thought they could do a better job. The Domicile was then created to keep peace. The domicile was then put in place so that no one was allowed outside because it was believed to be tainted by the war (uprising). Masks were put on the individuals faces and they were covered head to toe in clothes so no one was segregated out as an individual. What happens when someone tips the balance? What happens when the mask comes off and they want to be an individual?

This is what The Sixth Domicile is all about. In order for you to understand Q(the heroine) and B(the hero) in the book you need to jump right into the book and read for yourself how the domicile system came to be.

I recommend this book to readers ages 16+ for the mild violence and mild sex scenes.



The Vrai Domicile (The Domicile Series Book 2) 
by Courtney Ruggles 
 Genre: New Adult Dystopian 
 Released on August 24th, 2016 

vrai Q437B was ready to die for the Second Revolution. Then she entered the Meurtre Q and B expected death when the Elders ordered their execution. What they discover instead changes everything they thought they knew about their world. Saved by the mercy of the Elders, they awaken in the Vrai Domicile, a mysterious place hidden below the Sixth Domicile housing hundreds of former rebels. Except these rebels have been brainwashed, conditioned to be blind followers. Q quickly learns of the Elders’ new plan for her – she is to become their warrior, to reunite the Vrai and Sixth Domiciles with purity, love, and unwavering faith. But to Q, she’ll be undoing everything she and the rebels fought for. Now Q and B must fight to survive once more, forced to forge new alliances with strangers who promise nothing is as it seems. But surviving comes with a choice – follow the Elders and quash the Revolution, or defy them and free the people, putting B’s and Grandmother’s lives at risk. In a place where the fire of rebellion is extinguished at every turn, can Q continue to be the spark that fuels the Revolution?
 Book 2 in The Sixth Domicile Series by Courtney Ruggles, a 5 star Readers Favorite! 
Order now!



Review:
5 Stars
I was asked for an honest review free of persuasion from the author or anyone else affiliated with this book.

I can not put into words how great of a ride this book is! Courtney Ruggles has outdone herself with The Vrai Domicile. When I think of Ms Ruggles I will now think of true love, action and adventure. I thought The Sixth Domicile was going to be one of my top reads for the year. I think I have now put this series as my top read for 2016. The way the author has described the inner workings of the Domicile has me wanting more.

We left off B & Q taking off their masks ask they were ready to die for the cause of the second revolution. We saw everyone ripping of their masks as well. What happened next? The Vrai Domicile picks up shortly after that incident. What Q & B didn't know was that there was a whole nothing layer to the domicile. 
What is really going on with the Vrai and the Sixth domicile that both can co-exist? Where do they go from there? Who are they to ultimately trust? Who will live and who will die?

Can I just say that Ms. Ruggles is the queen of cliff hangers? I mean really? I think that this makes this the best book yet! I must know what is going to happen next!

I recommend this book for ages 16+ as there is violence.

Vrai Domicile Teaser


  Read below for an excerpt from Vrai Domicile:
A100B’s words filled my head again. I bit my lip as I listened to what she said, demanding me to say them and then do exactly what she was telling me to do. “Untie it from your belt. You must do it,” she commanded in my ear. I looked down at the whip hanging on my side, my fingers brushing the Fouetter as terror and guilt gripped me. I gulped, my stomach churning and tears threatening me, gagging me. “Say it!” she hissed in my ear. She repeated the words so I would recite them exactly right. “T987A, a rogue Guerrier, helped me escape from the Domicile and betray you.” My voice shook and I kept swallowing the saliva building in my mouth from the threat of rising bile. “I swear to not betray you again, and to demonstrate that promise, I will punish T987A.” I finished the words A100B demanded I repeat. Q437A stood next to me, smirking. Two Guerriers emerged from the side of the Rotonde dragging T987A between them. I sucked in my bottom lip to stifle a cry. T987A was a part of the rebellion, one of the Guerriers who informed us what the Guerriers were doing and helped protect B and me. He fought Q437A when they found us sneaking out of the Domicile the last time, which gave us the time to run to the Rotonde to save Grandmother, and where I screamed at the people to reveal the Elders’ murderous ways. “I can’t,” I whispered as quietly as I could, barely moving my lips, sure A100B could hear me. “Take the Fouetter from your belt, Q437B,” she breathed in my ear. T987A stared at me in disbelief. I squeezed my eyes shut, knowing they were ready to beat my grandmother, beat her fervently until almost all the blood seeped from her. And then save her without numbing the pain to prepare to do it again. I didn’t know what would happen to T987A after this. I tried to reason with myself. I couldn’t get out of this. T987A was much stronger than my grandmother. I had endured twenty lashes, he could withstand at least that. My throat constricted as I fought to keep from vomiting or crying, not sure which would be worse right now. I pleaded with my eyes as his locked with mine to forgive me. I loosened the Fouetter, never taking my gaze from his. “I’m sorry,” I mouthed at him and hoped he could read my lips, my desperation, my turmoil, and my devastation. The Guerriers hoisted him on the platform and pushed him down, forcing him to his knees and rounding his back to give me maximum exposure. The Fouetter was heavy in my hands, much heavier than when we’d trained, as if it’d been filled with lead. The Guerriers wielded it effortlessly; I had wielded it effortlessly on innocent tile. I licked my lips, bit my tongue hard enough to taste metallic blood, now infused with the abundance of saliva. “I’m so sorry,” I whispered, my voice hitched by the tears now freely falling. There were too many to keep at bay. They fell from my eyes and dripped into T987A’s hair as I hovered over him, holding the Fouetter at my side. My whisper was loud enough for him to hear me, for the Guerriers holding him, and possibly the closest people to the platform. A100B heard it, her infuriated breath sounding in my ear. The Elders heard. Q437A’s hand grabbed my right arm owning the Fouetter. “I will help you, Q437B. As my partner and fellow soldier, I will aid you in punishing this betrayer!” I knew Q437A’s words were being fed to him as well. I went numb. He wouldn’t let me release the Fouetter. Instead his hand clenched over mine on the Fouetter, making sure I didn’t let go. He raised my arm high in the air. I sucked in a deep breath and held it in, biting the inside of my cheek as he drove my arm down, the Fouetter whistling in the air. I squeezed my eyes shut. The leather strips made contact with T987A’s back, the contact vibrating through the handle of the Fouetter. He screamed. Q437A raised my arm again high above my head and forcefully slammed it back down. The whip cracked against T987A; his cry echoed. Tears seeped from my locked eyes. I gulped, trying to hide the hiccups of sobs escaping from me. I wanted to scream, to cry out. To use my three-day training and throw my elbow back into Q437A’s chest to knock him off balance. And then attack him, knock him to the ground and beat the life out of him. Q437A kept raising my arm above my head and swinging it down so the Fouetter lashed T987A’s back. I didn’t count the times Q437A repeated the motion to cruelly whip T987A. Finally, the Elder’s voice boomed again over the Rotonde. Q437A had raised my arm high in the air again, readying for another blow. “That is enough!” he demanded. “By the mercy in us, T987A has served his punishment of thirty lashes. May the scars remind him of his transgressions and how we saved him today from the Meurtre. T987A, we implore you to become pure again.


courtneyCourtney’s love for writing started pretty much when she learned to read, which her mother would tell you was a feat in itself back when she was in the first grade. Once she aced those flashcards with vocabulary words, Courtney’s writing took off. And her love with it. In school, she was always writing short stories on a word processor (What?? Word processor with floppy disks?). Oh yes, she literally had a card filing case full of floppy disks. Now getting her Doctorate in social work, she’s used this education to help her write some of the gritty issues entwined in her stories. When Courtney isn’t writing her next book while drinking coffee, you can find her doing homework (drag) with chocolate chip flavored coffee, reading series of books (because school books are only so interesting) while drinking pumpkin flavored coffee, playing with her little boy, or daydreaming of future beach houses while drinking some other scrumptious flavor of coffee.  
  Media Links 
Instagram: @courtneyruggles 

The Giveaway: 
 Swag bag with bookmarks, Domicile keychains, an exclusive Domicile poster, and bracelets; open to US residents only.

1 comment:

  1. Great review! Thanks so much for joining the Vrai Domicile blog tour!!!

    -N

    ReplyDelete